DROID Has What iPhone Doesn’t: Haptic Feedback

14Dec09

Before everybody had iPhones, what phone held the largest market? The Motorola RAZR. Back when it first came out, it was a $400-500 phone. It was super slim, had a good camera for that time, and it was super thin. It was unmatched in design. Everyone had to have one. I never got my RAZR. Motorola was a cell phone force. It was huge. It was epic. The RAZR fit into your skinny jeans. Then the iPhone launched and everybody who had a RAZR and was getting sick of its aging tech, moved onto that. Motorola hit a wall and was never able to repair the pieces. Little Motorola continued to crank out RAZRs, bringing its design aesthetics over to other models such as the KRZR and SLVR but it was the same old tiring boring concept. It was no longer a sexy little anorexic bikini model. It became ugly and unwanted; the RAZR and all of Moto’s phones.

Then something magical happened. Realizing they were in deep shit, Motorola decide to ditch all other phone operating systems and shoe-in Google’s Android. Android was the key. With great software, they could focus on great hardware. The result of Motorola’s push is Verizon Wireless’s new flagship phone: DROID, made by Motorola.

To be honest, I was very skeptic of it. I had never seen a DROID in person (seeing a phone in real life is very important, no matter how many pictures you look at online) before. I was even going to never consider looking at it because it was on Verizon, and I don’t care much for the V. I decided to step into a Verizon Wireless shop and check out the DROID. I’m going to be as direct as possible. The DROID is a very nice phone. It’s boxy, but in a manly way. The interface seems rather smooth and I absolutely LOVE the haptic feedback for the touch screen soft keyboard. The iPhone definitely needs this. Feeling little pulses on your fingers to simulate a button registration is awesome.

Here’s what I don’t like. Slow ass camera. The test model was laggy. Very slow. Android needs a better look. Customizable skins or themes or something. Everything looks so sloppy and doesn’t really mesh with the phone exterior. I also didn’t like the physical keyboard that slides out. The buttons are all squares and too close together that typing was actually harder than on the haptic touch screen. Android’s browser is decent, but I kept wishing I could pinch to zoom. There’s nothing quite as sucky as having to press a “+/-” button do the zooming in/out.

As this isn’t a formal review, I can’t really judge, but I think Motorola is heading up the road to potential success again. Glad to see you’ve been busting your ass off in R&D doing something new Motorola!



2 Responses to “DROID Has What iPhone Doesn’t: Haptic Feedback”

  1. “sexy little anorexic bikini model” – i can definitely see that. the razr really sucked. MV got one when they came out, it was a pink one and in less than a year it died.

  2. Please let me know if you’re looking for a article writer for your site. You have some really great posts and I believe I would be a good asset. If you ever want to take some of the load off, I’d really like to
    write some articles for your blog in exchange for a link
    back to mine. Please shoot me an email if interested.
    Regards!


Leave a Reply

