New Super Mario Bros. Wii at Nintendo World

15Nov09

Yesterday was the release of the greatly anticipated New Super Mario Bros. for Wii; the first real new 2D platformer for a Nintendo home console since the SNES (Super Nintendo). How did Nintendo celebrate despite the rain? In Mario style. Nintendo pimped out their Nintendo World store in Rockefeller Center in New York City and got the party rolling.

There was a Nintendo Museum set up outside the store with a variety of Mario memorabilia. Acting real smooth, wielding my 35mm film Canon and my Nikon D40 around my neck, I tried to slip in with some press heads, but no dice, the security guard asked me if I had a press pass, and I was turned away. He did offer to let me go into another smaller section, but I refused (tight on time).

The entire store was decked out in Mario and friends ornaments. Outside of the store, there was a queue set up outside just for people to wait to PAY for the game. Five people were allowed in at a time, and once inside, continued to wait some more before reaching the cashier.

Inside was similar story of chaos; one mixed with nerd and geek sweat that made the trip a rather quick one. Children littered the first floor hunched over DSi stations. Parents watched protectively as their tots experienced Mario perhaps for their first times. A Mario mascot was even on hand to take pictures with anyone willing (I admit, I had my photo taken, the Nintendo staff obviously has never handled a DSLR before – the picture came out blurry).

Upstairs was where it all was. Wii stations everywhere, teenagers and adults packed together like a rush hour subway car. It was hard to get around. Everyone was having a lot of fun meeting fellow gamers, racing Mario Kart DS and waiting in line to try the New Super Mario Bros. Wii. I didn’t stick around to demo the game – I will most likely purchase it when I find it cheaper online someday.

Check out the gallery and check out what you missed!



4 Responses to “New Super Mario Bros. Wii at Nintendo World”

  1. Very cool, why didn’t you get a picture with mario?

  2. Thats sweet! I want my pic w/ mario! maybe i should photoshop one hehe

  3. Wow that was odd. I just wrote an incredibly long comment but after I
    clicked submit my comment didn’t appear. Grrrr… well I’m not writing all that
    over again. Anyways, just wanted to say great blog!


Leave a Reply

